Couple of things came up last night which we agreed was worth a discussion.....
1 - When playing a shot and a ball came to rest near a peg (it did not touch it), then investigating how close it was to the peg, the player said the peg was not on the spot and would like it re-spotting. This was done and now the peg was further away from the ball making the shot a lot easier. Now, should that peg have been re-spotted during the players visit, even though it was not on the spot at the start of their visit?
2 - When hitting a peg and moving it off the spot, but staying up, the peg should be replaced. What happens if a ball is on the spot preventing the peg being re-spotted? Does the ball get returned to the tray?
World Champion 2013, 2017 You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.
22. Should a ball knock a skittle off it’s spot but the skittle does not fall over, the score shall count and the skittle should be replaced in it’s correct position before the next shot is played, unless prevented by a ball encroaching on the skittle’s correct position, in which case it should be replaced as soon as the spot is clear, see rule 23 . 23. Should any ball be touching a skittle causing it to lean, or preventing it from being respotted this ball should be returned to the rack AT THE END OF THE BREAK
I would say that 1) is also covered by this in that the dodgy skittle should be correctly placed immediately a problem is noticed, unless 23 applies.
Inventor of the Triangles version of Bar Billiards. Highest England away aggregate 2013 and 2014, 10 - 0 last 10 England singles legs, seventh reserve 2015. Jersey Qtr final 2014, 2015, 2016 - Guernsey Plate Winner 2014, Main Final 2015, 2017. First person to have won both four pin opens.
Post by bigjimsilverfox on Apr 28, 2012 8:35:34 GMT
A couple of times this season I have noticed the cue ball falling off the D whilst the player is in the act of striking the cue ball!
After reading through the rules I am still concerned whether the scorer should call Foul as the only examples I have found are
rule 27 N) Playing the break shot with either ball not on its spot. It is not a foul under this rule if the ball falls off the spot as the player is in the act of striking. Any other penalty incurred will count.
rule 10. All shots must be played with the base of the cue ball within the area of the "D". but there is no mention of in the act of striking!
and Rule 27 K). Hitting the cue ball after it has left the "D" (double hitting / push shot).
So should the scorer call foul if the ball falls off the D in the act of striking the cue ball?
This is a very good point Jim, and in the ideal world the D would be oerfect and the ball would not roll, but we are all aware that others use tables and that damage will occur. I would not call a foul if the ball moved in the motion of striking, unless a further foul was incurred. I do agree that the rule prehaps to be clearer, but again this does seem to be in the scorers interpretation.