Me and Dave Tooke are having a doscussion during an Oxford summer league game regarding the situation of the last ball.
1. What happens when the scorer puts the pegs in the 50 pockets but at an angle that it interferes with the path of the ball played off the cushion into the 100 pocket, clips the peg wire, and is guided into the pocket even though the ball was going to quite clearly miss? Does the score count?
2. What happens if we have a situation where the scorer does not adhere to the pegs in the pocket on the last ball rule, and the last ball is potted in the 50? Particularly if the player who pots it is winning and the opponent has to pot the last ball to win? Is there a case for deliberate foul and the score is wiped completely? Or is it seen as "tough s***" and the score stays as it as I could imagine it would if the losing player potted it?
Sav or Tommo, dig out the constitution %
Inter Area Under 22's runner-up for 2012 Inter Area Under 25's runner-up for 2015 AEBBA Under 25's winner for 2015
Agreed, and the second scenario is covered by AEBBA Rule 115:
115) Deliberately foul shot: If, after the bar has dropped, a player - in the opinion of the scorer - deliberately plays a ball directly into a hole without touching another ball, then the ball should be retrieved and the other player allowed to play it. Any additional coins required to do so should be provided by the player deemed to have played the foul.
Up to date rules are always available on the AEBBA website and cover the 'Accidental Interference' 114 and 'Deliberate Miss After Bar' 115 rules as others have pointed out.
However a deliberate miss carries no further score penalty and the score is not wiped completely.
There can be no loss of break or score if the offence is not listed in rules 110 or 111.
Inventor of the Triangles version of Bar Billiards. Highest England away aggregate 2013 and 2014, 10 - 0 last 10 England singles legs, seventh reserve 2015. Jersey Qtr final 2014, 2015, 2016 - Guernsey Plate Winner 2014, Main Final 2015, 2017. First person to have won both four pin opens.